Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Can't Wait for The Geography of Lost Things

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released as well. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine. Find out more here.

The Geography of Lost Things

By: Jessica Brody

Expected Publication: October 2nd 2018 by Simon Pulse

320 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.

After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does?

Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans.

He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected.

And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.

What are you guys waiting on this week? Let me know!

8 comments:

  1. Barb(Boxermommyreads)June 27, 2018 at 4:52 PM

    So many people seem to love road trip books so I'm sure this one will be a hit!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is on my list to read as well. Hopefully we'll both enjoy it! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh this looks like a super cute book. Adding it to my TBR now. A road trip sounds like such a nice idea!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This one sounds great. I love the simplicity of the cover!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
  5. I hope so too. Thanks for stopping by Tressa!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yes, I love a good road trip story. I hope we both enjoy this one! Thanks for stopping by Eve!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I agree. I really like the cover too. Thanks for stopping by Krystianna!

    ReplyDelete