Sunday, October 28, 2018

Sunday Post & Stacking the Shelves - 10/28/18

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ The Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~this meme was inspired in part by ~ In My Mailbox~ It's a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

This has been a fun week. Husband took off work this whole week. The kids have adored having him home. We've played outside. We've gone for walks. We went to the pumpkin patch and out to eat. We got milkshakes. It has been so nice having him here. I wish it could be like this all of the time. And that's despite the fact that we're all battling colds again. The weather has been lovely and finally feeling like fall. We were supposed to have family pictures done on Friday but we got rained out and plan to do them this week. I have actually gotten some reading done this week. Seems I've been getting a ton of non-fiction/self-help type books lately. I enjoy these, but I don't read them as quickly as fiction. I probably need to cut back on my requests for review for a bit until I get caught up.

My annual "All Things Halloween" event is ending in a few days. This is my month-long event where I feature reviews from Halloween-y genres (fantasy, paranormal, supernatural, sci-fi, horror, mystery, thriller, and suspense). Over the last few years I've had mostly fantasy books as I just haven't been in the mood for much horror, but still...these are books that can get you in the mood for Halloween.

THIS PAST WEEK:

Monday: All Things Halloween Review of Hero at the Fall (Rebel of the Sands, # 3) by Alwyn Hamilton (4 Stars)
Tuesday: Top Ten Villains
Wednesday: Can't Wait for The Sword and the Dagger by Robert Cochran
Thursday: 2018 Series Enders Reading Challenge - October Wrap Up

UPCOMING THIS WEEK:

Monday: All Things Halloween Review of The Beauty of Darkness (The Remnant Chronicles, # 3) by Mary E Pearson
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday?
Wednesday: Can't Wait for Wednesday
Thursday: October 2018 EOM Wrap Up

Don’t forget to link up for the 2018 Series Enders Reading Challenge! You have until December 15th, 2018 to sing up. Each month there will be a giveaway for those participating with an end of the year giveaway too! Click on the picture below or the link above to find out more!

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews.

Talk to Me: How to Ask Better Questions, Get Better Answers, and Interview Anyone Like a Pro

By: Dean Nelson

Publication: February 12th 2019 by Harper Perennial

432 pages

Genre: Non-fiction, Self-Help

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss (Thank you!!)

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--From respected journalist, professor, and founder of the Writer's Symposium by the Sea, a book that demystifies the art and science of interviewing, in the vein of On Writing Well or How to Read Literature Like a Professor.

“Dean Nelson is one of the best interviewers around.”—Anne Lamott

Interviewing is the single most important way journalists (and doctors, lawyers, social workers, teachers, human resources staff, and, really, all of us) get information. Yet to many, the perfect interview feels more like luck than skill—a rare confluence of rapport, topic, and timing. But the thing is, great interviews aren’t the result of serendipity and intuition, but rather the result of careful planning and good journalistic habits. And Dean Nelson is here to show you how to nail the perfect interview every time.

Drawing on forty-years of award-winning journalism and his experience as the founder and host of the Writer’s Symposium by the Sea, Nelson walks readers through each step of the journey from deciding whom to interview and structuring questions, to the nitty gritty of how to use a recording device and effective note-taking strategies, to the ethical dilemmas of interviewing people you love (and loathe). He also includes case studies of famous interviews to show readers how these principles play out in real time.

Chalk full of comprehensive, time-tested, gold-standard advice, Talk to Me is an indispensable guide to the subtle art of the interview guaranteed to afford readers with the skills and confidence they need the next time they say, “talk to me.”

That's it for my shelves and recaps of my past and upcoming week. What did you add to your shelves this week? Any bookish news you want to talk about? Let me know!

3 comments:

  1. That sounds like a great week!

    ReplyDelete
  2. We got rained out of our family pictures too!!! Hoping to get them done next weekend. Hope yours works out. Have a great week!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really need to start the Remnant Chronicles, I hear such good things about it. I'll have to check out your review!

    Check out my Sunday Post

    ReplyDelete