Sunday, May 12, 2019

Sunday Post & Stacking the Shelves - 05/12/19

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ The Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~this meme was inspired in part by ~ In My Mailbox~ It's a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

These last two weeks have been a scramble. Monday the kids finally got to play in the sandbox that Daddy built them. Thursday I did some last minute grocery shopping while Little Girl was at school. Friday Husband was off work. Friday night we met my parents for dinner and passed the kids off to them. The kids spent the next several days between my parents and Husband's mom. Because...we went on a CRUISE! Our 10th wedding anniversary was this past week. We needed a vacation! However, Saturday as we're boarding the ship we got some texts and calls from our neighbor's son concerned about his mom (she's okay). Come to find out, our neighborhood was hit by a pretty big storm, and there were trees down and damage all around. Our own house had three trees down. Thankfully they all missed our house. Although we'll need a new fence and one tree fell in our pool. We had a full day at sea Sunday. Monday we were in Costa Maya and then Cozumel on Tuesday. Wednesday was another full day at sea and we arrived home by noon on Thursday. Husband had to work Friday, but Saturday we spent the day (mostly Husband because I had to watch the kids) along with a neighbor and several volunteers from the county and few family member with chainsaws and hauling limbs and debris to the road for the county to haul off. We also learned Saturday that a man who'd recently started attending our church passed away. It's been a whirlwind, but even through all of that we have a lot to be thankful for. Oh, and Happy Mother's Day!

THE PAST TWO WEEKS:

Monday: Review of Second Grave on the Left (Charley Davidson, # 2) by Darynda Jones (4.5 Stars)
Tuesday: April 2019 EOM Wrap Up
Wednesday:Can't Wait for Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, # 2) by Mary E Pearson
Thursday: Review of The Matrimonial Advertisement (Parish Orphans of Devon, # 1) by Mimi Matthews (4 Stars)

Monday: No Blog Posts
Tuesday: No Blog Posts
Wednesday: No Blog Posts
Thursday: No Blog Posts
Thursday: Review of Third Grave Dead Ahead (Charley Davidson, # 3) by Darynda Jones (4 Stars)

UPCOMING THIS WEEK:

Monday: Review of Brentwood's Ward (Bow Street Runners, # 1) by Michelle Griep
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday?
Wednesday: Can't Wait for Wednesday
Thursday: Review of A Modest Independence (Parish Orphans of Devon, # 2) by Mimi Matthews

Don’t forget to link up for the 2019 Series Enders Reading Challenge! You have until December 15th, 2019 to sing up. Each month there will be a giveaway for those participating with an end of the year giveaway too! Click on the picture below or the link above to find out more!

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews.

The How & the Why

By: Cynthia Hand

Publication: November 6th 2019 by HarperTeen

450 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss (Thank you!!)

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.

That's it for my shelves and recaps of my past and upcoming week. What did you add to your shelves this week? Any bookish news you want to talk about? Let me know!

3 comments:

  1. Happy Mother's Day! The cruise sounds very fun!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Jessica @ a GREAT readMay 12, 2019 at 9:05 AM

    Cute new read! I enjoyed Cynthia's paranormal titles from back in the day! Hope you enjoy this one!


    Here's my StS


    Have a GREAT day!


    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I hope you had an opportunity to relax on the cruise at least, happy Anniversary

    Have a great reading week
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out
    Http://www.bookdout.wordpress.com

    ReplyDelete