Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Waiting on Rooms

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Rooms

By: Lauren Oliver

Expected Publication: September 23rd 2014 by Ecco

320 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery, Paranormal

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support Giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

I love Lauren Oliver's writing so I can't wait to read her next book. What are you waiting on this week? Let me know!

12 comments:

  1. Sounds like a great read!

    My WoW: http://www.bookclublibrarian.com/2014/04/waiting-on-wednesday-new-dorothea.html

    ReplyDelete
  2. kirstymariejonesstudioreadsApril 23, 2014 at 9:47 AM

    I can't deny her writing is beautiful but I really disliked Panic, haven't tried any of her other YA, so maybe the Adult one may be better for me? Still going to read it and see. :)

    Here's mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have not yet tried this author, since YA is not my usual pick, but this adult novel sounds like a good place to start. Thanks for sharing.

    Here's mine:

    “LITTLE MERCIES”

    ReplyDelete
  4. I honestly didn't love Panic either, but that one book wasn't enough to turn me off from checking out her other stuff. Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really like Lauren Oliver's writing style. I didn't love her last publication, but I'm hoping this one will be better! Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I haven't tried any Lauren Oliver books yet, but this sounds really good!

    ReplyDelete
  7. This sounds really creepy! Although I didn't have the best experience with her last book (Panic), I may give this one a try. Thanks so much for visiting my WOW!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Ooh yeah, ooh yeah, ooh yeah! I love Lauren Oliver!! I'm excited to read her write for adults too! Great pick!! :D

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oh I really enjoy her writing style. I didn't love Panic, but in general I really enjoy her books. Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oh yes, I agree. I didn't love Panic, but I have faith in her writing. Thanks for stopping by and commenting Tammy!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I agree. I'm ready to see what she does with an adult book. And ghosts too! :) Thanks for stopping by Rachel!

    ReplyDelete