Sunday, May 7, 2017

Sunday Post - 246 & Stacking the Shelves - 185

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ The Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~this meme was inspired in part by ~ In My Mailbox~ It's a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

This was a good week. The weather was getting warmer until all of a sudden we had a cold front move through and temps were in the low 50s. Little Girl is officially down to only one nap a day. I have not quite adjusted to this. While I'm excited about her becoming more and more independent and growing and learning, I do still enjoy nap time when I get an hour here and there to myself. She does take a long nap in the afternoon now. I'm just still trying to adjust my schedule to ensure I get as much done during her one nap as possible. Thursday I had another doctor's appointment and ultrasound. I love being able to see Squirt grow.

THIS PAST WEEK:

Monday: April 2017 EOM Wrap Up
Wednesday: Can't Wait for The Queen and the Cure (The Bird and the Sword Chronicles, # 2) by Amy Harmon
Thursday: Review of Windfall by Jennifer E Smith (3.5 Stars)
Saturday: Problems Only We Know # 5 - Authors Writing Multiple Series

UPCOMING THIS WEEK:

Monday: Review of Praying the Attributes of God by Ann Spangler
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday
Wednesday: Can't Wait Wednesday

Don’t forget to sign up for the 2017 Series Enders Reading Challenge! You have until December 15, 2017 to sign up. Each month there will be a giveaway for those participating with an end of the year giveaway too! Click on the picture below or the link above to find out more!

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews.

Dividing Eden (Dividing Eden, # 1)

By: Joelle Charbonneau

Expected Publication: June 6th 2017 by HarperTeen

336 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasty

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss (Thank you!!)

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--From the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure.

But appearances—and rivals—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.

As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom’s wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.

With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?

That's it for my shelves and recaps of my past and upcoming week. What did you add to your shelves this week? Any bookish news you want to talk about? Let me know!

18 comments:

  1. I remember those days. It's tricky moving to one nap. There's just no time to get much done and you are so exhausted all the time. I remember.

    https://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2017/05/the-texas-library-association.html?m=1

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh man, I added way too much to my shelves this week :D for the whole month, pretty much! Have a lovely week reading your haul! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yay! Glad little girl is growing up!


    Here’s my Sunday Post!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog and join in this week’s Book Photo Sundays!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Nap time was so long ago for my children, but I remember trying to find a little time for myself when they were sleeping. I can't believe the ultrasound pictures now a days, I wish they had the detail when I was pregnant.

    Diving Eden sounds really interesting, I must add it to my ever growing list. Have a wonderful week.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh my goodness, it's so hard to imagine temps in the 50's right now! This past week it reached 90 several days. Today is *a little* milder but not by much. Summer temps come early in Florida. That cover of Dividing Eden has such a Game of Thrones vibe to me. I hope it'll be a great start to a new series!

    ReplyDelete
  6. We had a cool blast for a couple of days. Back to warm and sunny now. It's a good plan to grab your nap when your little one does:) I found I could fall asleep very fast once my son drifted off. LOL

    My Sunday Post

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oooo, I have Dividing Eden as well! It sounds great and looks really good, definitely something I would enjoy. Best of luck with your little one - both of them!

    Have a fabulous week, Sandy. =)

    Check out my STS post!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Sounds like things are going well. Enjoy those downtimes. :-)

    sherry @ fundinmental
    Sunday Memes

    ReplyDelete
  9. Cai Bohm (The Bookfeed Blog)May 11, 2017 at 10:11 PM

    My little on has just ditched her afternoon naps and started getting up half an hour earlier in the morning. The adjustment is surprisingly hard for me.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Ugh yes. And being pregnant doesn't help with the exhaustion. But I know like anything else that this is a season of life that will pass, and I'll try to enjoy it while I'm in the middle of it. Thanks for stopping by Deb!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Man I've been trying to minimize the books I get because I've been in a slump. I've only finished one book this month so far and that's not a good start to the month. I hope you enjoy all of your new books though! Have a great week!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Oh yes! The ultrasounds are so much better than they used to be, and I am so thankful for that. Thanks for stopping by and commenting Jovita!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Isn't it funny...we're in the 90s this week. So up and down. I hope Dividing Eden will be as good as the cover makes it seem. Thanks for stopping by Tanya!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Yep. We're in the 90s this week. HAHA! Yes I do nap every now and then when she does, but I can't do that every day or nothing would get done around my house. Thanks for stopping by and commenting Laura!

    ReplyDelete
  15. I hope we both enjoy it! Thank you so much Alyssa!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Oh boy! I'm dreading that day when there's ZERO naps. But I also know she'll be a bit more independent too. But getting up earlier PLUS no naps...I can imagine that would be a difficult adjustment. Thanks for stopping by Cai!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Oh yes...I try to maximize being productive with actually getting some rest during her one nap each day. :) Thanks for stopping by Sherry!

    ReplyDelete
  18. A respectable decision :) I can't seem to stop getting/requesting even if I'm in a slump, haha :D

    ReplyDelete