Sunday, November 20, 2016

Sunday Post - 222 & Stacking the Shelves - 159

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ The Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~this meme was inspired in part by ~ In My Mailbox~ It's a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

Monday my sister and niece came by to visit. My sister has to go back to work tomorrow so this was our last chance to get to visit while she was on maternity leave. Thankfully they don't live far. Tuesday was grocery store day. Husband was off work Wednesday through the rest of the week. He won't have to go back until the Monday after Thanksgiving. You guys will not believe this, but Little Girl (12 months old) has started saying "diaper." I thought she might be telling me when she was wet/dirty, but I kept checking her and she was dry. So I started wondering if she was telling me that she needed to go. SO I sat her on the baby potty and lo and behold she went. And then she did it again about an hour later. That was right before bed on Tuesday so we didn't get to do it any other times that day, but Wednesday she went 5 times in the potty including one # 2. I'm in shock that at 12 months old we're starting to potty train. I thought we'd have months before I even needed to start researching potty training. But I figure if she can tell me that she needs to go then we'll go. I know it won't be a miraculous process where she's all of sudden trained, and she's still not telling me every time she needs to go. But I'm stoked that we're already starting this because it'll be so nice not to have to worry with diapers anymore. Saturday we hosted a volleyball birthday party for my niece at our house. She's officially a teenager. I also want to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving! US or not, I pray you all have plenty in your lives to be thankful for. And just the fact that you're reading this now, I want you to know that I'm thankful for you.

THIS PAST WEEK:

Monday: Review of November Snow (Bad Bloods, # 2) by Shannon A Thompson (3 Stars)
Tuesday: Ten Movies to Get You in the Holiday Spirit
Wednesday: Waiting on After the Game (The Field Party, # 3) by Abbi Glines

UPCOMING THIS WEEK:

Monday: Review of Opposition (Lux, # 5) by Jennifer L Armentrout
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday
Wednesday: Waiting on Wednesday
Thursday: Happy Thanksgiving!!
Friday: 6th Annual Black Friday Book Bonanza Giveaway Hop

Don’t forget to sign up for the 2016 Series Enders Reading Challenge! You have until December 15, 2016 to sign up. Each month there will be a giveaway for those participating with an end of the year giveaway too! Click on the picture below or the link above to find out more!

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews.

Sempre: Redemption (Forever, # 2)

By: J.M. Darhower

Published: December 16th 2013 by Simon & Schuster

416 pages

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Mafia

Source: Personal Kindle Library (on sale for $0.99)

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--In this thrilling and sexy follow-up to Sempre, two young lovers struggle to keep their relationship intact after they become deeply enmeshed in the dangerous mafia-run crime ring they once tried to overthrow.

Haven Antonelli and Carmine DeMarco have been through a lot. Haven was taken in by Carmine’s father, and with his family’s help, she escaped a gruesome fate. However, saving Haven from the dark intentions of a mafia family cost Carmine a steep price: he was forced to swear loyalty to them.

Now, still passionately in love, Carmine and Haven must face the fall-out of Carmine’s forced service, as Haven discovers terrifying secrets about the family that enslaved both her and her mother—and why she matters so much in this intricate web of lies.

Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts, # 1)

By: Vic James

Expected Publication: January 26th 2017 by Pan Macmillan

293 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Source: Publisher via NetGalley (Thank you!!)

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--For readers of Victoria Aveyard and George RR Martin comes a darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule and commoners are doomed to serve.

NOT ALL ARE FREE.
NOT ALL ARE EQUAL.
NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED.

Our world belongs to the Equals—aristocrats with magical gifts—and all commoners must serve them for ten years. But behind the gates of England's grandest estate lies a power that could break the world.

A girl thirsts for love and knowledge.

Abi is a servant to England's most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of the noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family's secrets might win her liberty, but will her heart pay the price?

A boy dreams of revolution.

Abi's brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution.

And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts.

He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate—or destroy?

Shaken: Discovering Your True Identity in the Midst of Life's Storms

By: Tim Tebow

Published: October 25th 2016 by Waterbrook Press

224 pages

Genre: Nonfiction, Sports, Biography

Source: Publisher via Blogging for Books (Thank you!!)

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--First, he was a beloved college football champion, Heisman trophy winner, media sensation, and best-selling author drafted in the first round of the 2010 Draft. Then he had a miracle playoff run with the Denver Broncos before being traded to the New York Jets. After one season he was cut by New York. Next he was signed by the New England Patriots then let go after training camp—a scenario that repeated itself the following summer with the Philadelphia Eagles. Tim Tebow has achieved big victories and plunged the depths of failure, all while never letting go of his faith, even in the face of doubt and disappointment. In Shaken he explains why neither the highs nor the lows of his life can define him—and he reveals how you, too, can find confidence in your identity and know who you are. In revealing passages, Tebow pulls back the curtain on his life, sharing the vulnerable moments of his career that have shaken him to his core—while also teaching the biblical principles that will enable you to keep the faith, no matter what comes your way.

Chaos (Mayhem, # 3)

By: Jamie Shaw

Published: July 21st 2015 by Avon Impulse

432 pages

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary

Source: Personal Kindle Library

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--From the moment she saw Shawn Scarlett perform at a school talent show, Kit Larson has loved two things: the guitar, and the gorgeous, green-eyed boy who inspired her to play. But one careless night in high school shatters her hope of ever being more than a notch on his bedpost.

Six years, two bands, and one mostly-mended heart later, Kit’s about to make her rock star dreams a reality as the new guitarist for Shawn’s band, The Last Ones to Know. He may not remember their reckless night together, but Kit has never forgotten… and she’s determined to make him eat his heart out.

The release of their new album means a month cooped up on a tour bus, sleeping inches away from the ridiculously sexy musician she’s never quite gotten over. And as Kit gets to know the real Shawn—not Shawn Scarlett, the rock god, the player—their attraction becomes too hot to resist. But the past is paved with secrets, and when they finally surface, Kit could lose everything: the band, the music, her dreams… and Shawn.

A Noble Masquerade (Hawthorne House, # 1)

By: Kristi Ann Hunter

Published: September 8th 2015 by Bethany House

365 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian Fiction, Regency

Source: Personal Kindle Library

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--Lady Miranda Hawthorne acts every inch the lady, but inside she longs to be bold and carefree. Entering her fourth Season and approaching spinsterhood in the eyes of society, she pours her innermost feelings out not in a diary but in letters to her brother's old school friend, a duke--with no intention of ever sending these private thoughts to a man she's heard stories about but never met. Meanwhile, she also finds herself intrigued by Marlow, her brother's new valet, and although she may wish to break free of the strictures that bind her, falling in love with a servant is more of a rebellion than she planned.

When Marlow accidentally discovers and mails one of the letters to her unwitting confidant, Miranda is beyond mortified. And even more shocked when the duke returns her note with one of his own that initiates a courtship-by-mail. Insecurity about her lack of suitors shifts into confusion at her growing feelings for two men--one she's never met but whose words deeply resonate with her heart, and one she has come to depend on but whose behavior is more and more suspicious. When it becomes apparent state secrets are at risk and Marlow is right in the thick of the conflict, one thing is certain: Miranda's heart is far from all that's at risk for the Hawthornes and those they love.

An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne House, # 3)

By: Kristi Ann Hunter

Expected Publication: January 3rd 2017 by Bethany House Publishers

352 pages

Genre: Christian Fiction, Historical Fiction, Regency

Source: Publisher via NetGalley (Thank you!!)

( Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository )

*Note: The above links to Amazon and Book Depository are affiliate links. Affiliate links support giveaways for Somewhere Only We Know readers.

Goodreads description--When her mother's ill-conceived marriage trap goes awry, Lady Adelaide Bell unwittingly finds herself bound to a stranger who ignores her. Lord Trent Hawthorne, who had grand plans to marry for love, is even less pleased with the match. Can they set aside their first impressions before any chance of love is lost?

That's it for my shelves and recaps of my past and upcoming week. What did you add to your shelves this week? Any bookish news you want to talk about? Let me know!

1 comment:

  1. I'm going to wait a month or so before I pick up Gilded Cage probably. I agree that it has some nice cover options. We've kind of backed off on the potty training as she started fighting it and it was never my intention to push it anyway. You're totally right though, diapers are WAY too expensive! Thanks for stopping by and commenting Alyssa!

    ReplyDelete